iorewmadness.blogg.se

Jazz guitar single coil vs humbucker
Jazz guitar single coil vs humbucker









jazz guitar single coil vs humbucker

A PAF style pickup is really as much output as most people need, especially if they also have a boost of some kind.

jazz guitar single coil vs humbucker

If you play with gobs of distortion, you may want a hotter pickup. If I had to do it all over again, I might have opted for the low wind Imperials. They are not so hot that they are all mushy.

jazz guitar single coil vs humbucker

The Imperials are hotter than the CustomBuckers, with firmer lows and hold up a little better when you want a tight rhythm tone. The CustomBuckers are nice and detailed, low output humbuckers. So humbuckers are generally easier to play and have less versatility.Īs far as humbuckers I use today, I use Gibson CustomBuckers and Lollar Imperials. Many are muddy and hit the amp's input hard so you end up with a dark saturated tone.īecause single coils are so detailed, they can expose a lot of flaws/noises that humbuckers would often mask. If you need great cleans or high frequency detail, it can take you many attempts to find the right humbucker which delivers that. They are cleaner, and typically have more dynamic range and a greater/flatter frequency response. In general, I think SCs are a better initial palette to work with. If generalizing, I'd say Humbuckers are better for heavier music and singles for cleaner music. If the other guitar player in the band plays a Les Paul with humbuckers, you should probably keep with singles. Also, you should consider tones which compliment other instruments well. Some genres/tones are better suited for one type than the other. Well, yeah, it depends on the sound you are after. and yeah, I guess it just depends on what kind of tone you're going for. Just typing this makes me want to find a great 335 or even a 175. I have no basis in why I think this.Īnyone here care to share their struggles or triumphs finding a great humbucker tone compared with a single coil sound? If possible, share the types of sounds you go for, as well. Not sure why, but I've almost thought of humbuckers almost as cheating, haha. I guess I've just never really been that inclined to buy a guitar with humbuckers, strangely enough. airy complexity about them, but that day has always stuck in my head. Maybe that was a "grass is always greener" kind of feeling, and maybe it was in combination with the fact that semi-hollow guitars have that B.B. Never owned any non-single coil guitar, actually! Anyone feel that getting a great sound is easier with a guitar with humbuckers? I remember picking up an ES-339 once and being absolutely amazed about how good the clean tone was right off the bat.











Jazz guitar single coil vs humbucker